MLL Announces Three Teams Will Not Be Operating in 2019 4/1/19

Logo Courtesy of: Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse Continues Strategic Plan

-League Restructuring to Focus on Expanding in Strategic Markets-

-Media Rights Reacquired to Pursue Broader Distribution Deal for Fans, Players and Sponsors-

Boston, MA, April 1, 2019 – – As part of Major League Lacrosse (MLL) strategic plan to transform the 19-year property, the league announced that it will restructure to focus on expansion in strategic markets and has reacquired its media rights in an effort to seek a broadcast partner with broader reach for its fans, players and sponsors.

MLL ownership unanimously agreed on a strategy which limits one team per owner and will restructure the organization to focus on expansion in strategic markets with the goal of establishing Eastern and Western conferences. As a result, Major League Lacrosse will not be operating the Ohio Machine, the Florida Launch or the Charlotte Hounds in 2019. After the construction on American Legion Memorial Stadium is complete, the Charlotte Hounds will return in 2021 under new ownership. Discussions are ongoing for expansion with new owners for teams for the 2020 season.

Logo Property of: Florida Launch

The league also reacquired all linear, digital and social broadcast media rights to air MLL games and will explore broadcast options with broader distribution that will benefit fans, players and league sponsors.

Logo Property of: Ohio Machine

“When we announced our MLL strategic plan in August, 2018, our owners were resolute in taking meaningful steps to position the league for success,” said Alexander Brown, MLL Commissioner. “Today’s news of the league restructuring and the reacquisition of our media rights, are central to our growth.”

Logo Property of: Charlotte Hounds

“The past year has been a transformative time for MLL. Tremendous credit goes to the owners for their courage and willingness to evolve to the ‘one team, one owner’ structure,” said Brendan Kelly, owner of the Chesapeake Bayhawks. “Our Commissioner has shown strong leadership and vision throughout this process. The League is now positioned for economic growth and heightened brand exposure.”

Previously announced changes for the 2019 MLL season include a comprehensive league rebrand, the development of a robust digital team and infrastructure, a 51 percent increase in each team’s salary cap, added players to game-day rosters and an extended schedule from May 31 through September. Other league initiatives include developing a full calendar of tent-pole events, continued investment and development in digital, introducing a cutting-edge statistical platform and developing grassroots initiatives that will improve the league’s community programming.

 About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), based in Boston, is the premier professional field lacrosse league. MLL has led lacrosse’s growth into the mainstream of competitive team sports since 2001. In the spring of 2018, MLL entered into new leadership for the first time in 14 years when it selected Alexander Brown as the Commissioner. Since that time MLL has been on an aggressive path towards sustainably developing and growing the league. The league currently features six teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, and New York Lizards.